Living without text messaging and social media is going to end up being one of the best choices I’ve ever made.

I don’t mean this in a finger-pointy way, but we’re not slaves to our technology anymore. It’s wonderful! We’re not checking our phones whenever the conversation goes quiet. We don’t check Facebook whenever we don’t know what else to do. The read receipt no longer holds any power over us. “Did they read it? Did they respond? Do they hate me? Oh my God, what if they died in a fiery car crash? Or worse– what if they forgot about me entirely?”

Yeah… No level of momentary expedience is worth longterm disphoria. Ever.

Our phones are only phones. Our computers are for Microsoft word documents and the obligatory once-every-day-and-a-half email check. It’s beyond nice– It’s heavenly.

You don’t want people to be able to get a hold of you 24/7, so you don’t let them. Social media stresses you out, so you don’t have it. Why is this such a novel concept? It really shouldn’t be. Shame on me for having fallen into the 21st century trap of putting instant gratification and social expectation above personal wellbeing.

And I have to say, the absolute best part of all of this was when childhood friends said, “You know, as much as it would scare us to do this, ourselves, it feels much more human to talk to you rather than looking at text on a page. Thank you for caring enough to call.”

I love it. And I already know that I’ll likely never go back. This feels incredible. Who’da thunk it?

